1. Home
  2. Integrations
  3. Connecting Everhour with Asana

Connecting Everhour with Asana

If you use Asana as a management tool, you can easily integrate it with Everhour and start tracking time for all your Asana tasks on our website or right inside Asana interface with the help of our browser extension.

How to connect

There are 2 ways to connect Asana to Everhour.

First, you can connect your account during signup. 

Second, you can connect Asana later in your account settings. Click on your avatar in the upper right corner, then on Account, and choose Integrations. New integration can be created if you click on Add Integration.

What’s get connected

When you connect Asana, Everhour will sync all public projects across all teams and all workspaces and tasks that belong to these projects.

Except for your Personal Projects. Personal Projects won’t be synchronized under your Everhour account and time cannot be tracked for these projects.

Sync happens periodically and automatically, so all new projects that you create in Asana will be automatically added to your Everhour account. Everhour also changes the names of tasks or projects, if they were renamed in Asana.

What’s not

As mentioned, Everhour does not connect your Personal Projects. We think this might confuse other members who could see your activity, leaving alone high chance to make a mistake in reports that should not include your personal stuff.

We don’t support guest user accounts. Tasks assigned to guests create a copy of a task, without actual access to the project, while we require a true project to connect to. So, if you want to track time against tasks, make sure your teammate is invited into the team as a regular member, not a guest.

Alternatively, you can create a separate workspace for such users. If you use Asana premium, you can use private projects or even use internal projects in Everhour.

We don’t connect with archived projects. The reason is that we no longer see such project connected to Everhour, so time entries from it disappear from your Time page but remain in reports for team admins.

Browser extension and embedded timer

To see the embedded timer in your Asana and track time there, you need to (i) connect this account with Everhour and (ii) make sure you have our browser extension installed and authorized.

You should have our plugin on all browsers you work with. Thus, if you work with Everhour at the office and later want to continue work at home from another computer, you should install a browser extension before this.

You may also need to reload your page in Asana.

Total time label shows up near each task when you look on the project list. If you open a task, you can see who and how much contributed to the total hours spent on a task.

Time in red stands by hours you reported today. It will return to zero next day. you can leave a comment while the timer is running

Enter your time manually when you forgot to do it. Add a comment to your entry. Add hours on behalf of your colleagues.

Edit reported time right here. Open your task details and press on the “+” plus sign near timer button.

Screen-Shot-2017-02-15-at-12.33.36-PM

Screen Shot 2017-02-15 at 12.33.25 PM

Beside reported time you can set up an estimate to your task and see the remaining time.

The left task overview pane will display total time/estimate from a parent task and all its subtasks. On the right pane, you’ll see time reported specifically into the parent task as well as time/estimate on each subtask.

Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 5.00.25 PM

The project title above displays a field with a budget that can be an amount of time or a sum of money.

Information available in reports

Everhour allows to see the following attributes that you use in Asana:

  1. Label. Each task may have a label, and you can group and filter reported time by these labels.
  1. Task Number is a unique number of Asana task with a hyperlink to task details in a management tool.
  1. Workspace groups time by Asana team or workspace.
  1. Task status shows the actual state of your task (open, closed).
  1. Iteration is a name of Asana section.
  2. Custom fields can be added as a separate column.

Disconnecting Asana

If you wish to disable Asana integration, then select Integrations and choose Connected Apps. After that click on the Disable. You will stop integration for your account, but for the rest of the team the sync will happen as usual.

When you delete or archive only one/some projects from Asana, we wipe off all time entries from Time and any other pages that display the time entry history. However, team admins always can find and see these entries for all team members, if they build a report for such deleted/archived projects.

Was this article helpful?